Personal Project: London Film and Comic Con 2011


Photograph © Daniel Lewis 2011

If you’ve read my blogs in the past you may be aware that I am a bit of a science fiction nut.  I grew up watching the original Star Trek and Star Trek: The Next Generation (TNG) [obviously when they reran them in the late eighties – not first time round!!] and am still a big fan today.  There has been a recent revival of interest in the franchise as a result of the success of the 2009 film Star Trek” had when it was released in 2009.  I was working the night of the film’s Premiere, on the red carpet arrivals, in Leicester Square.

The London Film and Comic Con (LFCC) is a huge event which brings together fans of many television and film franchises like Star Wars, Lord of the Rings, Star Trek, Doctor Who, The Terminator, Aliens etc…  People visit in their droves from up and down the UK (and from abroad) to experience this event which is always an interesting spectacle.  The serious fanatics even travel to London dressed accordingly, in their heroes’ costumes, which to some people is very strange, but they are perfectly harmless people enjoying themselves innocently.  So from what I said at the beginning, this was going to be a great crossover in interest for me – mixing my inner Trekkie with my day job.

The main attraction of LFCC is the chance for ‘Joe public’ to meet the Stars.  Last year Star Trek’s Captain James T. Kirk, William Shatner, was there signing autographs for his loyal fans, including me.  Also in the building was former World Heavyweight boxing Champion Mike Tyson. It can get expensive for the regular visitor, signings generally cost £30-50, which includes a signed photo and a chance to say “hello”.

There are also hundreds of dealers who sell anything from vintage comics to actual props from films.  If you are a fan of movies and TV, you will struggle not to spend money here.

The guests, on show this year, were Star Trek’s Walter Koenig, who played the Russian navigator Mr Chekov, Star Trek: TNG actor Brent Spiner, who played Commander Data as well as Back to the Future star Christopher Lloyd, who famously played the eccentric Dr. Emmett Brown in the classic trilogy.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

All photographs © Daniel Lewis 2011

For most of the day I was shooting atmospheric and portraiture images for a project that I have been working on over the past couple of years.  Little by little I am building up a body of work which I hope, at some point, to gather together in book form.  It will focus on the people who attend these kinds of events and document the fun they have.

A great day out though, and for me I captured some nice images for my project, which will continue to be a ‘work in progress’ for now.

Visit my website

Leave a Reply

