Glencore Annual Report Shoot: Frozen Lake


Photograph ©Daniel Lewis 2012

I have just returned from shooting another annual report, this time for Swiss based mining company, Glencore.  It involved traveling across Kazakhstan in incredibly cold conditions shooting among other things, gold mines.  I can’t post any of the primary photography yet but I can at least show this image which was taken on top of a dam in eastern Kazakhstan looking down at an entirely frozen lake.   The lake continues to span past that top left corner into something ten times the size, which then extends to the horizon.  When I think of a frozen lake, I think of the one on Wimbledon Common where I used to take winter pictures back in my news days…this takes the mental image of a frozen lake to a whole new level.

The temperature when I took this frame was estimated at -30°C.

www.daniellewisphoto.com 

Leave a Reply

