‘Shooting the Saints’ Series


About a year ago I posted a blog about my time as a student spent photographing my hometown football team, Southampton FC.  I stated that I was intending to put a self-published book together – well the book will come eventually but I have followed on one promise which was to assemble the images together into a series.

Over the course of a few years, in the early Noughties, I had amassed a body of work that was used in various publications, as well as my final Degree portfolio at college.  But it later became forgotten over time as I started to make my way as a professional, first as a photo journalist and then later as a commercial photographer.  The hundreds upon hundreds of pictures taken were stored away in boxes, on disk and on negatives for years.  So I recently decided to dust them off, scan them in and present them on my website as a project.

After taking some time to deliberate the selection I have finally uploaded the finished series to my website which includes portraits of the Southampton team of the time (circa 2001-2004), as well as sports action from Premier League matches and atmospheric images of the stadium and the fans.

The collection can be seen here.

Leave a Reply

